

Rotary Officers & Directors

International President William B. Boyd
District 6920 Governor William J. Blankenship

District 6920 Governor Elect Richard Hyer **Assistant Governor - SSI Area** Clyde Taylor

St. Simons Island Rotary Club

President Pat Storino
President Elect Jim Bruce
Secretary Maria Vogt

Assistant Secretary Teresa Jones-King

Treasurer Shan DuCom

Assistant Treasurer Charles Lewis

Immediate Past President Kevin Lokey
Past Presidents' Representative Clyde Taylor

Sergeant-at-Arms Millard Allen

Assistant Sergeant-at-Arms Mike Harris
Historians Allen J. Berry

Julian E. Flexer

Directors

Club Relations & Public Relations
Club Service & Membership
Community Service
International Service
Mile Muldowner

International Service Mike Muldowney
Programs & Fellowship Brooke Pridmore
Vocational Service Chuck Cansler

The Four-Way Test

of the things we think, say or do

- 1. Is it the *truth*?
- 2. Is it fair to all concerned?
- 3. Will it build goodwill and better friendships?
- 4. Will it be **beneficial** to all concerned?

On-Line Makeup • www.rotarydistrict6920.net

Rotary Club of St. Simons • Founded in 1950 • www.ssirotary.org
Meets Tuesday 1 P.M. - Sea Palms Golf & Tennis Resort
Rotary Club of St. Simons • P.O. Box 21887 • St. Simons Island, GA 31522
www.rotarydistrict6920.net • www.rotary.org for Rotary International



Rotary Club St. Simons Island Georgia, U.S.A

District 6920

Rotary Spray

December 12, 2006

Annual Christmas Program

Area Rotary Clubs

ClubMeetingBrunswickChristie's RestaurantGlynn CountyChristie's RestaurantJekyll IslandJekyll Island Club HotelSt. Simons IslandSea Palms (Confirm before attending)SSI Marshes of GlynnEpworth—Jinks Dining Room

Day & Time
Thu. 1:00 P.M.
Wed. 7:30 A.M.
Wed. 7:30 A.M.
Tue. 1:00 P.M.
Thu. 7:30 A.M.

Managing Editor & Publisher

John Buchanan spray@ssirotary.org

Data Reports

Teresa Jones-King Maria Vogt

Attendance

December 5 TBA

Rotabucks

Susan Hardwick \$47

Visiting Rotarians—Club

• Bob Coleman—Tifton

Guests—Hosts

 Dave Boothman—Bob Coleman

Wellness Report

 Roy Mahlberg continues to recover.

Makeups

- Clyde Taylor (2) —Camden County and Jekyll Island
- Ervin Williams (2)—The Landings and Savannah

Greeters

12/12 Jim Cooper Anita Crispin12/19 Roland Daniel John Darby Jr.

Birthdays December 12-18

Eric Andreae Dec. 13 Myra Hocutt Dec. 17



From the President

Reminders Remember the Attendance Sheets and your Mercury Mariner Hybrid ticket.

Ring-the Bell President Pat called on Bud Dorsey who announced the program this year looks to be a total success. 48 ringers and alternates are in place.

CASA Pat read the thank you note acknowledging our \$1,000 donation.

New Members

Wank Davis was inducted, accompanied by his sponsor, Sonny Doehring. The Board met today and approved **Ruth Hayward** for transfer into our club. Ruth's sponsor is Susan Hardwick. This brings the membership to 132. The Board approved also membership for Mark Friedman; induction is to be scheduled for Mark. His sponsor is Lou Henderson.

December 5, 2006

Tony Thaw Glynn County Charter School for

Work Force Development



Don Fielder introduced Tony Thaw. Tony serves as County Commissioner, having been elected in 2004 and will start his second term in January, 2007. Russ Moore accompanied Tony. Russ has spent 25 years in business, government and education. He works nationwide with entities that want to adopt seamless education for workforce development. Also participating in the presentation was Dr. Ralph Gornto who has a degree in Forest Management from Auburn, has earned other degrees and has much experience in educational administration.

The gentlemen explained the background of the Charter School endeavors, along with the progress and goals. Their emphasis is on training beyond high school and the program was presented in detail with facts and numbers to highlight activity and successes. The presentation was followed by a Q&A session.

2007-2008 Slate of Officers

Clyde Taylor, representing the Nominating Committee, presented the St. Simons Island Rotary Club 2007-2008 recommended slate of officers. See the enclosure The Club bylaws require the committee to present the slate of officers to serve from July 1, 2007 through June 30, 2008. The nominations will remain open until December 19, 2006, at which time President Pat Storino will hold the election of officers. If you have any alternate nomination, submit it in writing along with the nominee's consent on or before December 19.

Upcoming Programs

- 12/19 Annette Neu, Coastal Health District
- 12/26 Christmas Week. No Club Meeting.
- 1/2 Kenan Kern, District Governor Nominee, *Uses of the Rotary International Fund*
- 1/9 Ron Upshaw & Amy Roberts, St. Simons African American Heritage Coalition
- 1/16 Officer Anthony Maldonado, Brunswick Police Department, *Gangs*.
- 1/23 Lorene Reid, Executive Director, Coastal Coalition for Children

BOARD OF DIRECTORS 2007-08

PRESIDENT: JIM BRUCE

PRESIDENT ELECT: CHARLES CANSLER

DIRECTORS: 4 REQUIRED- EACH SERVING TWO YEARS
MILLARD ALLEN
ROBERT CABLE
DON FIELDER
STAN HUMPHRIES

DIRECTORS REMAINING ON THE BOARD FOR ONE YEAR STAN KYKER BROOKE PRIDEMORE

SECRETARY: MARIA VOGT

ASST SECRETARY: BECKY STEPHENSON

TREASURER: SHAN DU COM

ASST TREASURER : LINDA BUTLER

SGT AT ARMS: JACK MC DONALD

ASST SGT AT ARMS: MIKE HARRIS

HISTORIANS : ALLEN BERRY
JULIAN FLEXER

PAST PRESIDENT: PAT STORINO

PAST PRESIDENT'S REPRESENTATIVE: KEVIN LOKEY